Blogs

CM Punk’s exit leaves hole in WrestleMania experience

Fair warning, this post is going to sound totally petty.

I’m going to my second WrestleMania in a row this year. I have floor seats in the amazing New Orleans SuperDome. I rented a house with friends. We are flying down, spending a week in warm weather and we also scored tickets to the Raw after Mania. I have tickets to WrestleMania Axxess on Saturday night and I will be meeting my favorite wrestler ever, Bill Goldberg, at WrestleCon. Everything is amazing and I am extremely lucky. But I must admit, I am fairly disappointed right now.

cmpunk30aOn Tuesday morning I was lucky enough to get two VIP tickets to meet my current favorite wrestler in the WWE. He is the reason why I have become such a big fan of the WWE and our weekly podcast would have never existed if he wasn’t on the roster. The problem is, the tickets I bought were to meet CM Punk, who, as everyone now knows, has walked away from the WWE.

I came back to watch the WWE in 2011 when the Rock returned two months before WrestleMania XXVII, but I stayed a fan because of CM Punk and his infamous Pipe Bomb promo against John Cena.

I tried convincing myself, and all of our listeners (check out Episode 60.5!), that CM Punk’s departure was all part of an elaborate storyline. That Triple H, Vince McMahon and Punk had orchestrated this entire walkout only to have CM Punk eventually return to action and take out Triple H at WrestleMania. I no longer believe this is the case.

Today I received an email from WWE Corporate that stated the following:

Unfortunately, CM Punk will not be able to appear at the WrestleMania Axxess VIP Autograph Session on Saturday, April 5 at 6 p.m. However, we are pleased to inform you that Ric Flair will appear at this VIP Autograph Session. Your existing CM Punk VIP ticket will now grant you access to the VIP Autograph Session on April 5 at 6 p.m. with Ric Flair.

If you wish to exchange your VIP ticket for different VIP session, a limited quantity of tickets will be available on a first come first serve basis. Please respond to this email no later than Monday, February 3 at 5 p.m. ET with your new VIP ticket request.

Nothing against Ric Flair. He is one of the greatest of all time. I totally respect the man. His career speaks for itself. But to me this is like telling a 12 year old girl that she’s going to meet Justin Bieber and then two days later tell her that he won’t be able to appear. But fear not! Your ticket will be available to meet Mick Jagger, as he has graciously stepped in to fill the void! Okay, maybe it’s not quite that, but that is how I’m feeling.

I know that in the scheme of things there are much worse things in life, trust me I get that. I’ll still enjoy WrestleMania, I’ll still love the crap out of going to Axxess, meeting wrestlers, hanging with friends and exploring New Orleans but a big part of the fun will be back in Chicago probably reading comics and watching MMA.

CM Punk, you will be missed.

Leave a Reply

